Sonia Gandhi likely to contest Rajya Sabha polls from Rajasthan: Sources – India TV

Sonia Gandhi, Rajya Sabha elections
Image Source : PTI Congress leader Sonia Gandhi

Congress leader Sonia Gandhi is likely to be party’s Rajya Sabha candidate from Rajasthan, sources said on Monday (February 12). She is currently a Lok Sabha MP from Raebareli, a traditional stronghold of the Congress party. However, it was earlier speculated that she might contest Rajya Sabha elections this time instead of the Lok Sabha polls.

The party is likely to field party leader and advocate Abhishek Manu Singhvi as a candidate from Karnataka. Syed Naseer Hussain is likely to be given the ticket to the Upper House of the Parliament again whereas Ajay Maken may also get the ticket, sources said.

Congress will announce its candidates in the next one to two days.

Earlier, Prime Minister Narendra Modi criticised the Opposition during his address in the Parliament in the recently-concluded Budget Session and suggested that its leaders lacked the confidence to contest the Lok Sabha elections and were looking for the Rajya Sabha route to enter the Parliament.

“I see that many of you (Opposition) have even lost the courage to contest elections. Some seats were changed last time too, I have heard that many people are looking to change their seats this time as well. I have also heard that many people now want to go to Rajya Sabha instead of Lok Sabha. They are looking for their paths by assessing the situation,” he had said during his reply for the Motion of Thanks to the President’s address in Lok Sabha.

Rajya Sabha elections

The Election Commission of India on January 29 announced the Rajya Sabha poll dates. The elections are all set to take place on February 27 and the votes will be counted on the same day. The term of office of 56 members are due to expire on their retirement in April, 2024.

According to the Election Commission’s letter, the last date for nomination for Rajya Sabha elections is February 15. Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on February 16. The last date for withdrawal of nominations has been kept as February 20. Voting will take place on February 27 between 9 am and 4 pm and counting of votes will take place on the same day at 5 pm.

ALSO READ | Rajya Sabha polls: BJP nominates Sudhanshu Trivedi, RPN Singh, Subhash Barala and other candidates

ALSO READ | TMC names Sagarika Ghose, Sushmita Dev and two others for Rajya Sabha polls

Source link

Leave a Reply